This information was disclosed via Whatsapp website.
According to the information disclosed on the website, the company stated that,
“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th.
If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account.
However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept.
For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications.
But won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.
You have the following options:
- You can still accept the updates after May 15th.
- Before May 15th, you can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account. If you’d like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we hope you reconsider. It is something we cannot reverse as it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups.
- If you need any help downloading a report of your account or deleting your account, you can contact us here. Separately, our policy related to inactive users will apply.”
So basically, WhatsApp features will become restricted starting from May 15th.
Also users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app.
Calls and alerts will still be open to them, but this will only be possible for a “short period.”
Since 2016, WhatsApp has exchanged some data with Facebook, including phone numbers.
Read More on Tech Gist Africa;